JAZZIZ Editors’ Choice: Jon Batiste, The 8-Bit Big Band, Charles Mingus & More (PLAYLIST)

The editors of JAZZIZ are lucky enough to be able to listen to new music before it’s officially released in stores and streaming platforms. And because we listen to new tracks all the time, we know exactly what to recommend. That’s why, every Monday, we’ll bring you a ten-song roundup, featuring music from our favorite new albums, singles, and other tunes that may have flown under your radar. And, for good measure, we’ll also add some “golden oldies”…

“Freedom” is one of the most remarkable tracks of Jon BatisteThe GRAMMY-winning feature film We are. Batiste was one of the big winners at this year’s GRAMMY Awards and his rendition of the song closed out the night’s celebrations. Los Angeles-based jazz collective Triton Asylum presents their electro-acoustic music on “Grasshopper”, the opening track of their new album, The hidden sessions.

Charlie Rosen and Jake Silverman recently won the GRAMMY for Best Arrangement, Instrumental or A Cappella for their rendition of “Meta Knight’s Revenge” from The 8-Bit Big Bandthe scrapbook, Backwards compatible. Robin McKelle continues its nod to female songwriters by releasing its version of “I Must Have That Man”, composed by Dorothy Fields and Duke Ellington. This is an unreleased track from his 2010 album, Act like a fool.

Trombone shorts celebrates how strength and growth can emerge from moments of struggle on his latest single, “What It Takes”, delivering an invigorating mix of soul, funk and pop. Christian McBride Big Bandit is For Jimmy, Wes and Oliver, with longtime collaborators Mark Whitfield and Joey DeFrancesco, won the GRAMMY Award for Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album. Included in this week’s playlist is their version of Wes Montgomery’s “Road Song” from the record.

“Arraiá” is a sultry, sultry new track from the producer/musician Daniel Maunick‘s second album, which features his continued playful use of the foundations of traditional Afro-Brazilian rhythms. Swedish guitarist Gustaf Ljunggren and Icelandic bass legend Skuli Sverrisson invite the listener into a sentimental and reflective musical space on their latest single, “Kogens Mark”, from their upcoming collaborative album. Charles Mingus mixes music and spoken-word narration on “Freedom” from his 1962 album, The complete town hall concert of 1962.

“Det Sker Bare” is a track by Danish guitarist Kristoffer Vejslevhis new album with his Vejslev Exploration Band, Parallels, on which he mixes frank New York-inspired jazz with the innovation of the contemporary Nordic scene. This week’s playlist concludes “In It”, a track from Dawnthe first solo of an innovative musician Max ZTwhose performances on the hammered dulcimer synthesize diverse global musical traditions into sublime and priceless sound.

All that and more on this week’s JAZZIZ Editors’ Choice Playlist, which you can listen to via the player below!

Feature photo: Francis Specker/CBS via Getty Images

Like this article ? Get more when you subscribe.

Charles Mingus, Christian McBride, Daniel Maunick, Gustaf Ljunggren, Jon Batiste, Kristoffer Vejslev, Max ZT, Robin McKelle, Skuli Sverrisson, The 8-Bit Big Band, Tritone Asylum, Trombone Shorty
Source link

About Eileen W. Sudduth

Check Also

Equity Research Analyst Downgrades for May 16 (ACM, ADDYY, BAND, BHOOY, BNOX, CIX, CIXX, CME, CNO, DCOM)

Equity research analyst downgrades for Monday, May 16: AECOM (NYSE:ACM) was downgraded by StockNews.com analysts …