The Wombats will never be an ‘overtly positive’ band


The Wombats insist there is “zero chance” the indie group will ever be “openly positive”.

The rock band are back with their first studio album since 2018 ‘Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life’, ‘Fix Yourself, Not the World’, and frontman Matthew ‘Murph’ Murphy has admitted that if fatherhood made him less “cynical and pessimistic” in his lyrics, he will never be an optimistic person.

Speaking to the Daily Star newspaper’s Wired column, Murph – who has Dylan, four and Kai, 12 months, with his wife Akemi – said: “I can’t be as cynical and pessimistic as the first three Wombats albums .

“I discovered positivity, driven by having kids and wanting long-term fun rather than short-term thrills.

“But there’s no way the group will ever be openly positive.

“I still see the world the way I always have, I’m just better at analyzing it. I’m definitely not worried about losing my cynicism.

One of the tracks on the new album is “Everything I Love Is Going To Die”, but the song itself is full of groove and upbeat.

Murph said, “Titles can be morbid but when you listen to them, they’re not.”

The 37-year-old musician’s favorite track on the new album is “This Car Drives All By Itself”, and he explained how each of their records contains “a really special song”.

He added: “I love ‘This Car Drives’, Jacknife Lee produced it.

“It seems like we have a really special song on every album.

“‘Greek Tragedy’ on the third, ‘Turn’ on the fourth and for me ‘This Car Drives’ is that special moment again, which doesn’t come up too often.”

The 12-track album was recorded remotely, with Murph in Los Angeles, bassist Tord Overland Knudsen in Oslo and drummer Dan Haggis in London, as they worked with top producers including Jacknife (U2, The Killers) , Gabe Simon (Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey), Paul Meaney (Twenty One Pilots, Nothing But Thieves), Mark Crew (Bastille, Rag’n’Bone Man) and Mike Crossey (The 1975, The War on Drugs, Yungblud) .

It’s the first time the trio have created an album without being in the same room, leading them to experiment with their sound even more.

Dan said in a statement, “We’re so excited for people to hear this new album! We explored new genres and pushed further musically than ever before. It will always stand out for us in our memories of our other albums as we recorded it in three cities during lockdown, and we weren’t all in the same room at the same time!”

The band will be promoting the record with a full UK arena tour, including a massive show at The O2 in London on April 15.

The track listing for “Fix Yourself, Not The World” is:

1. “Flip Me Upside Down”

2. “This car drives itself”

3. “If you ever leave, I’m coming with you”

4. “Ready for the high”

5. ‘Crazy method’

6. “People don’t change people, time does”

7. “Everything I love is going to die”

8. “Work is easy, life is hard”

9. “Forest Fires”

10. “Don’t Sting the Bear”

11. “Don’t worry”

12. “Fix Yourself, Then The World (Go Beyond Your Fingers)”

[ad_2]Source link

About Eileen W. Sudduth

Check Also

Miami band Humbert releases music video for “You Said”

[ad_1] “While we were loading, the air was a bit loaded,” vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Ferny …